The Vatican's government
Vatican City was established as an independent state in the year 1929 by the Lateran Treaty. The general politics and governance of the Vatican City are undertaken by the head of the Catholic Church, the Pope. The Pope is the one the head of the Vatican government and is in charge of the Vatican's wealth. The Pope exercises ex officio supreme legislative, executive and judicial power over the state of the Vatican City.

Generally speaking, the Pope is the one holding the reins of Vatican City but of course he must delegate some of his powers and authorities to various bodies and organs. All of  these bodies working in unison form the Vatican government. The pope delegates legislative authority for the Vatican City State to the unicameral Pontifical Commission for the Vatican State. The commission consists of several Cardinals who are appointed by the Pope. Laws which are passed by this commission must be approved by the pope through the Secretariat of the State.The Pope delegates executive authority to the President of the Pontifical Commission who is also the President of the Governorate of Vatican City.

The pope also appoints the Secretary General and a Vice Secretary General who assists the President in executing the powers delegated. Normally, the President is a cardinal of the Catholic Church.The President is also delegated the executive authority of the Vatican City by the Pope, under the title President of the Governorate of the Vatican City State. The President reports all important matters to the Secretariat of State, who is the Pope’s chief. Additionally, the Pope’s judicial authority is exercised through the President of the Supreme Tribunal of the Apostolic Signatura, who serves as the President of the Cassation Court of Vatican City. Therefore, the Vatican government is comprised of the three main organs namely the legislature, executive and judiciary. All these organs work independently to generate and protect the Vatican wealth, resources, safety and unity. All the presidents are appointed and can be removed from office by the Pope at any time. They are appointed to serve a five year term.

The general structure of the Governorate consists of the following:
Legal Office, Office for Personnel, Office for Civil Records, Accounting Office, Shipping Office, Police Department, Post and Telegraph Office, Archives, Tourist Information Office, Numismatic and Philatelic Office, Department of Economic Services, Department of Museums and Galleries, Office for Archaeological Research, Castel Gandolfo, Department of Technical Services and Vatican Observatory.
All these organs make up the Vatican government and they are responsible for the creation of Vatican wealth, institutions, peace, international relations, etc.

It is important to note that Vatican City is the only recognized independent state that is not a member of the UN, and it is the only remaining absolute monarchy in Europe when it comes to its governance and political system. The major sources of Vatican wealth are printing services, Vatican museums, post office services, etc. The City issues its own coins and has several financial institutions that manage Vatican wealth.