TheRoman Curia
The Roman Curia is the administrative tool of the Holy Seeand together with the Pope it is the central governing body of the CatholicChurch. The Roman Curia is responsible for coordinating and providing therequired central organization for the functioning of the Catholic Church andthe attainment of its objectives. The word Curia means court. The Roman Curiais known in English as the Papal Court. The Pope, The Roman pontiff uses the RomanCuria departments in order to perform his duties. The Roman Curia is composedof the Holy See offices .The offices of Vatican City do not belong to the Roman Curia.
The following are some of the organs that compose the Curia:

The Secretariat of State: Thisorgan is headed by the Cardinal Secretary of State. It is divided into theFirst Section (the Section for General Affairs) and the Second Section (Sectionfor Relations with States). It is responsible for performing all the diplomaticand political functions of the Holy See and Vatican City.

The Congregations
: Thisis the central administrative organism of the Catholic Church. Everycongregation is headed by a prefect, who is a cardinal.

The Tribunals
: there are threetribunals of the Curia, namely The apostolic Penitentiary (it is a tribunal ofmercy dealing with issues related to forgiveness of sins in the Roman CatholicChurch); The Supreme Tribunal of the Apostolic Signatura (an administrativeoffice for matters pertaining to the judicial activity of the entire Church);and The Tribunal of the Rota Romana (this tribunal gives verdicts on cases ofappeals)

The Pontifical Councils

The Pontifical Council for the Laity: Thiscouncil has the responsibility of helping the Pope in his dealings with thelaity in lay ecclesiastical movements.

The Pontifical Council for Promoting ChristianUnity: responsible for facilitating dialogue and unity with otherChristian churches and ecclesiastical communities and also advancing religiousrelations with Jews.

The Pontifical Council for the Family
: responsiblefor promoting the pastoral care of families,  protects their rights and pride both in theChurch and in civil society.

The Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace:
  This council is dedicated to action orientedstudies for the international promotion of justice, peace and human rights. Itnormally cooperates with religious institutes; international and scholarlyorganizations, advocacy groups, etc.

The Pontifical Council Cor Unum
:responsible for the care of the Catholic Church for the needy thus encouraginghuman fellowship and thus making evident the charity of Christ. It does sothrough humanitarian relief activities such as relief needed after disasters.
Other councils are the Pontifical council for the PastoralCare of Migrants and Itinerants; Pontifical Council for the Pastoral Care ofHealth Care Workers; Pontifical Council for Legislative Texts; PontificalCouncil for Interreligious Dialogue; Pontifical Council for Culture; thePontifical Council for Social Communications; and the Pontifical Council forPromoting the New Evangelization.

The Synod of Bishops:  This is an advisory body of the Pope and thebody members are elected by bishops from across the world.

The Offices
: The financialauthorities of the Holy See are comprised of three offices named the apostolicCamera; Administration of the Patrimony of the Apostolic See; and the Prefecturefor the Economic Affairs of the Holy See.

The Pontifical Commissions
: consistof the Pontifical Commission for the Cultural Heritage of the Church;Pontifical Commission “Ecclessia Dei”; Pontifical Commission for SacredArcheology; Pontifical Biblical Commission; the International TheologicalCommission; Interdicasterial Commissions; and the Pontifical Commission for Latin America 

The Swiss Guard

The Labour Office of the Apostolic See

The Pontifical Academies: the Pontifical AcademyCultorum Martyrum
; Pontifical Ecclesiastical Academy; PontificalAcademy for Life; Pontifical Academy of Sciences and Pontifical Academy ofSocial Sciences

All members of the Curia resign their office immediately after the death or resignation of the Pope except the Cardinal Camerlengo and the Major Penitentiary.